Skip to main content

Troubleshooting e-resources: Persistent links

Tips and tricks for accessing Camosun Library e-resources such as e-journals, e-books, databases, streaming videos on or off campus.

Persistent links and Camosun proxy prefix

Persistent links

Persistent links (also called permalinks, stable URLs, or document URLs) point to specific articles, journals, e-books, or searches from library research databases. They allow authorized users to access learning resources either on or off campus. Persistent links can be used within teaching materials, SharePoint, D2L, email or reference lists.

Best practice is to use the most direct link available (i.e. from the publisher or database) when providing links to your students.

Camosun proxy prefix

Persistent links to Camosun library licensed e-resources should start with the following string of characters:

https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

Open Access articles do NOT require the proxy prefix.

NOTE: Not all databases provide persistent links in the correct format. Be sure to TEST permalinks on and off campus before sharing them!  Please contact the Research Help Desk or the Systems & Discovery Librarian if you have questions.

Persistent links in EBSCOhost databases

Linking to an article from an EBSCOhost database such as Single Search or Academic Search Complete? Do NOT use the session-based URL from the top address bar! Instead, look for the permalink tool icon.

Detailed article record from EBSCO database with permalink highlighted

Learn more persistent links in EBSCO databases from the EBSCO support center.

Persistent links in ProQuest databases

ProQuest databases such as Canadian Business & Current Affairs and Canadian Major Dailies use the term Document URL to refer to persistent links. You will find it towards the bottom of the Abstract/Details tab of the article record.

Do NOT use the URL in the top address bar as it will expire after you end your session!

 

Document URL on Details tab of an article from a ProQuest database

Persistent links in JSTOR

The JSTOR database provides stable URLs for specific articles or journals. If you want these to be accessible off campus you will need to add Camosun's proxy prefix:

  1. Find the article you wish to link to. For example:JSTOR stable URL

  2. From the search result page, look for the stable URL. Copy and paste this into your document.

  3. Copy the following string exactly as is and add it to the front of the stable URL:
    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

  4. The complete search string should look something like this:
    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/483399

DOIs and persistent links

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a type of permanent link often used to identify articles in online journals. It is generally found at the top of the article itself, or within the citation or abstract. Some of our providers who use DOIs include: SAGE Publications, Oxford Journals Online, ScienceDirect, Springer, Wiley, and more!

If you (or your students) will be accessing the article off campus using a DOI, you will need to add the Camosun Library proxy prefix to the article DOI to allow proper authentication.

To create a link using a DOI:

  1. Copy the DOI provided for the article into your document.

  2. If necessary, add http://dx.doi.org/to the front of the DOI.

  3. Add the following string exactly as is (no spaces!) to the front of the URL:
    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

  4. The completed link should look something like this: 

Persistent links & copyright

Planning on using persistent links in course packs or on D2L? Be sure to review our Copyright guide.

Searching by DOI

To search for an article by its doi (Digital Object Identifier) add the following prefix:

http://dx.doi.org/  

Off campus? Be sure to add the Camosun proxy prefix as well.