Skip to main content

AskAway policy page: AskAway policy page

 

https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/

Library Homepage http://www.camosun.ca/library
General Info  rmation
Library Branches We have 2 branches. Lansdowne and Interurban. http://camosun.ca/services/library/hours-locations.html
Service Hours http://camosun.ca/services/library/hours-locations.html with reduced hours over semester breaks.
Lib   rary Policies   

Most policies can be found here: http://camosun.ca/services/library/policies.html

Library Floor Plans

Interurban: https://webservices.camosun.ca/library-meeting-room-booking/floor-maps.php#interurban 

Lansdowne: https://webservices.camosun.ca/library-meeting-room-booking/floor-maps.php#lcmmain  &

https://webservices.camosun.ca/library-meeting-room-booking/floor-maps.php#lcmupper

Circulation / Checkout / Loans Phone Numbers

Lansdowne Library 250-370-3619

Interurban Library 250-370-3828
Reference Desk Phone Numbers

Lansdowne Library 250-370-3622  Fall/Winter coverage: Mon-Thurs 9-7:00; Fri 9-5; Sat 11-6, Sun 12:30-5.

Interurban Library 250-370-4630  Fall/Winter coverage: Mon - Fri 10-3, Sat 11-6.

Service hours are reduced during the spring & summer sessions.
Circulation / Checkout / Loans email library@camosun.bc.ca
Email address for Reference Questions library@camosun.bc.ca
Phone Number for Text Message Reference Service Not available
Resources & Services
Library Catalogue

https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/

NOTE: We do not load MARC records for major e-book or streaming video collections; please check EDS ("Single Search").

Library Search  We use EBSCO Discovery Service (locally called Single Search).
It is available as the default search widget on the library homepage; also as an Advanced search under the Search tab page (the advanced search option is a link under the search widget on this page): https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=eds
Indexes & Databases

By title: http://camosun.ca.libguides.com/az.php

By subject: subject access to our databases is through the libguides A-Z page. You can select subjects from a drop down menu and resource types (e.g. e-book collections, encyclopedias, etc.) through the All Database types drop down menu.

We have a Troubleshooting e-resources guide that outlines known issues, scheduled maintenance, etc.

Google Scholar link Camosun's Google Scholar access
Database Authentication

The OFF campus login for licensed resources is the same as the Computer Account (Student number 'C099999' from ID card and password). The password is initially their birthdate (mmddyy)
Domain passwords can be reset at https://password.camosun.ca

Subject Guides Subject guides http://camosun.ca.libguides.com/index.php 
Citation Guides

Citation guides http://camosun.ca.libguides.com/cite

Instruction Within the Faculty services guide http://camosun.ca.libguides.com/FacultyGuide/Instruction
List of Librarians / Library Staff There is a subject liaison librarian list here: http://camosun.ca/services/library/ask-a-librarian.html 

Key library contacts list here:http://www.camosun.ca/services/library/contact-us.html
Reserves This link automatically puts you in the Reserves section of the catalogue.  You have to login to use e-reserves. https://reserves.libraries.coop/BVIC/
Interlibrary Loans

http://camosun.ca/services/library/services.html 
Within databases and discovery layer, use the "Request from another library" link.

Article request form (online submission): http://camosun.ca/services/library/interlibrary-loan-journal.html

Book request form (online submission): http://camosun.ca/services/library/interlibrary-loan-book.html

NOTE: Requests can also be emailed to ill@camosun.bc.ca

eJournals We use EBSCO's Publication Finder. Journals & magazines search
Print Journals The library has a small number of print magazines which can be borrowed for 1 week; the most recent issue does not circulate. Check the catalogue record for the most accurate holdings.  Journals are shelved alphabetically by title. There are no call numbers.
Technical Help

Email our general library account: library@camosun.bc.ca or phone during opening hours. 

Depending on the nature of the technical problem, the ITS department can be contacted during the day: http://camosun.ca/services/its/contact.html

Writing /Tutoring Centre Contact

http://camosun.ca/services/writing-centre/

Other help centres (Math, ESL, etc.) http://camosun.ca/learn/programs/help-centres.html

eResources Emergency Contact Gwenda Bryan, Systems & Discovery Librarian (M-F, 8-4pm) @ 250-370-3610; OR Research Help Desk @ 250-370-3622
Borrowing Information
Library Cards

Student cards are also library cards. http://camosun.ca/services/library/id-cards.html

A detailed list of various student accounts: http://camosun.ca/services/its/student-accounts.html

Loan Period http://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html
Holds / Recalls / Requests http://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html#renewals
Renewals

Regular loans can be renewed twice. Reserves cannot be renewed.

http://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html#renewals

Fines / Penalties  http://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html
Borrowing Policies

http://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html

Library Account Information

The login to the library account to place holds or renew materials is located here: https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/eg/opac/login

To reset passwords or to login for the first time go to https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/eg/opac/password_reset

NOTE: The library account is not connected to the College computer account; resetting a password in one account will not affect the other.

After hours book returns

Interurban library has a stand alone metal book return outside the Campus Centre building to the right of the entrance off Interurban Road.

Lansdowne library has a stand alone metal book return outside the Library building to the left of the entrance.

Equipment & Facilities
Wireless Access

https://wireless.camosun.bc.ca/login/

Password reset station for student domains: https://password.camosun.ca/aims/ps/

Photocopiers & printing

http://camosun.ca/services/printshop/copyscan.html

Our ITS department implemented cloud printing with PaperCut. Students are encouraged to ask for help setting a PIN at the Technical Support (LAN) or Library Services (INT) desks.

Microfilm / Microfiche Not available.
Computer Labs

Campus computer info: http://camosun.ca/services/its/

Library Computers

Library computers are on a first come, first served basis. 

There is currently no time limit and no way to book computers online. 

Each library also lends laptops for students (i.e. cannot be borrowed by staff or faculty).

Meeting / Study Rooms Both campuses have group study rooms that students can book online https://webservices.camosun.bc.ca/mrbs/day.php
Campus Information
Academic Calendar  Program and course calendars: http://camosun.ca/learn/calendar/current/
Class Timetable Select "Search for credit courses" to search without having to login: https://camlink1.camosun.bc.ca/WebAdvisor/WebAdvisor?&TYPE=M&PID=CORE-WBMAIN&TOKENIDX=930784591
Selecting the relevant term and one other field are required e.g. term and instructor, term and course code, etc.
Exam Schedules https://camsql-prod.camosun.bc.ca/WebAdvisor/WebAdvisor?TOKENIDX=930784591&type=M&constituency=WBST&pid=CORE-WBST
Campus Maps http://camosun.ca/about/transportation-parking/campus-maps.html
Campus Web Site Map  Not available.
Other Resources
AskAway Local Administrator(s) 

Jennifer Lambert lambert@camosun.bc.ca; 250-370-3605 (office) or 250-370-3622 (Research Help Desk)

Back up: Margie Clarke clarkem@camosun.bc.ca; 250-370-4533 (office) or 250-370-4630 (Research Help Desk)

Back-up Phone Number  Try the Research Help Desk at Lansdowne: 250-370-3622
Any other useful information?