Skip to main content

Student Learning Success Guides!

ACADEMIC INTEGRITY means obeying the rules of honest research and scholarship, avoiding plagiarism, and citing your sources. Think of it as the college equivalent of your professional reputation.

A red keyboard key labelled Integrity

TIPS

Think of research as joining an academic conversation.

Cite every source you use.

Track your citations as you find them to save time writing and editing.

Use the citation tools built into the Camosun Library databases.

Double-check your citations to match established standards!

SELF-REFLECTION

How do you decide how much time to budget for each assignment?

If people's words and ideas are "intellectual property," what should we do when we use them?

How can you organize your sources so they are easy to reference later?

What can you do to remember to cite each quote or paraphrase accurately? 

Which citation style does your instructor want (APA, MLA, Chicago, IEEE, Vancouver)?

Find source information

Information generally required: graphic with colored arrows showing where to find citation elements in single detailed record view

• Author(s) 
• Title(s) 
• Publication details
• Date 
• Pages

The “Source” line on journal articles contains most of the information you’ll need.

 

If you’d like detailed information on a specific citation style, go the Camosun Library Citation Guides via the links listed below.

 

Make citation tracking easy

Use the Cite button whenever you can.

You can find it near the top of the search results list...

Image of right side tools found on single item detailed records from EBSCO interface

Image of results list cite button found in Proquest databases

 

 

... or to the right of the source information for a single item⇒ 

 

Its location depends on which database you are using.

 

 

When using this handy library database tool, don’t assume the formatting is correct! 

Remember that there is no Cite button on the open web!

You’ll have to know what information you need to record.

Camosun Library has detailed citation guides for that.

Review citations for correct formatting

Database generated citations are not always 100% correct! 

For example, this is the database-created APA citation for an article:

Nikolova, E. (2014). YOGA IN PHYSICAL EDUCATION. Activities In Physical Education & Sport, 4(2), 219-222.

Errors: Capitalization of article title; missing "Retrieved from" information or DOI link.

The corrected APA citation looks like this: 

Nikolova, E. (2014). Yoga in physical education. Activities in Physical Education & Sport, 4(2), 219-222. Retrieved from https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=s3h&AN=99932922&site=eds-live

Record every source

Start a citation list as soon as you start researching!image of three citations with notes on planned use for example Yes, use quote on page 2401

Save a citation for every source you think you might use. 

Label the citations according to how you will use them: quotes and page numbers.

Delete a citation when you know you will not use it.

Review all citations for correctness. 

Your citation list can be done without any hassle or stress!

 

TOOLS & RESOURCES

Detailed citation guides from your Camosun Library

 

Memorial Library Videos:

The awesome librarians at Memorial University in Newfoundland have created a great collection of videos that cover everything from formatting your paper, to citing sources with missing information, to creating those nitpicky footnotes!

Browser extensions or apps:

Tutorial

This video from the North Carolina State University (NCSU) Library is used under a Creative Commons 3.0 license.