Skip to main content

Camosun Library Faculty Services: Services at a glance

Discover the diverse services we offer – in the library and beyond.

Library services at a glance

  • two campus libraries - the Lansdowne Library & Learning Commons is located in the Alan Batey building; the Interurban Library is located on the 3rd floor of the Liz Ashton Campus Centre

  • librarians and support staff ready to assist

  • research education classes linked to class curriculum or assignments to help develop and build information literacy skills

  • online subject guides to many disciplines or specific courses

  • thousands of e-journals in fulltext

  • over 100,000 e-books

  • dozens of databases to locate information on any topic

  • borrowing - use your College ID card

Lansdowne Library & Learning Commons

The Lansdowne Library and Learning Commons is a collaborative space for students, staff and faculty. This is where collections and support services meet to provide an integrated service. Our building partners include:

Booking Procedures for Faculty

Lansdowne Learning Lab: LLC 136

Faculty can email booking requests to learninglab@camosun.bc.ca with date, time, purpose and instructor leading the session. To facilitate student access to the lab, users are requested to consider non-peak hours (before 11 am or after 3 pm).

Requests will be responded to within 48 hours.

Seminar Room: LLC 132

The Seminar room provides space for small groups of staff, faculty and students to meet. The room will be available for student use if no other group has reserved the room.

Bookings are managed by Room Bookings: roombooklan@camosun.ca

Faculty and staff can reserve seminar rooms by logging into the employee intranet and submitting a request form.

For Students:

Students must book a group study room using the library's student room booking system.

Borrowing from the University of Victoria Library

As a Camosun College faculty member you are entitled to an Associate Library Card at the University of Victoria. This card entitles you to borrow from the circulating collection. Show the McPherson Circulation Desk staff your Camosun College Library/ID card to obtain the Associate Library card.

Access to electronic resources is not available with this card. However, you can visit the University of Victoria Library and request access on the day of your visit.

Scholarly databases

Databases allow you to search for articles, images, statistics, and more by keyword, author, title, etc.

Take a look, if you don't see your discipline in our alphabetical subject list, let us know.

With the databases the library subscribes to, you have access to thousands of fulltext journals. Did you know you can set up journal or subject search alerts so that you're notified when new content is added to the database?

Online research guides

To date, more than 100 subject, course and citation guides have been prepared by our librarians.

Library and Writing Centre staff have created and contributed to our Student Success and How-to Guides.

If you cannot find a Research Guide for your class or discipline let us know!  

Library card / College ID

Visit either library to get your picture taken for your Camosun College Library card. This card also acts as your official Camosun College ID. Provide library staff with your email address in order to receive courtesy notices about overdues and holds pickups.

Ask about your library account PIN; this PIN is only for placing holds or renewing material online (NOTE: your library account is different than your computer account).

Looking for authoritative reviews?

Donations?

Camosun College Library welcomes gifts of books, journals and other library materials that contribute to the growth and development of its collections. Donation of funds to support the purchase of collections are always welcomed and are coordinated through the Camosun College Foundation.