Skip to main content

Chicago Style Guide - 17th Edition

Single Author

FORMAT

Author's LastName, FirstName. Title of Book. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Oakley, Ann. Gender on Planet Earth. New York: New Press, 2003.

FOOTNOTE FORM

1. Ann Oakley, Gender on Planet Earth (New York: New Press, 2003), 77.

Two or Three Authors

FORMAT

FirstAuthor's LastName, FirstName and/or Initial., and SecondAuthor's FirstName and/or Initial. LastName. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Edition number (if applicable). PlacePublished: Publisher, Year.

EXAMPLE

Boxer, Marilyn J., and Jean H. Quataert. Connecting Spheres: European Women in a Globalizing World, 1500 to the Present. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.

FOOTNOTE FORM 

2. Marilyn J. Boxer and Jean H. Quataert, Connecting Spheres: European Women in a Globalizing World, 1500 to the Present, 2nd ed. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2000), 133.

MORE DETAILS

  • Two or more authors should be listed as they appear in the book, not necessarily in alphabetical order.

Four or More Authors

FORMAT

FirstAuthor's LastName, FirstName, SecondAuthor's FirstName LastName, ThirdAuthor's FirstName LastName, and ForthAuthor's FirstName LastName. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Clayden, Marie, Dianne Fenner, Christine McAdam, and Christine Strauss. Making It Work: A Handbook for Reading, Writing, Language and Media. Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 2003.

FOOTNOTE FORM

3. Marie Clayden et al., Making It Work: A Handbook for Reading, Writing, Language and Media (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 2003), 65.

MORE DETAILS

  • In the bibliography, only the first author’s name is inverted, and a comma must appear both before and after the first author’s given name or initials.
  • For works by or edited by four to ten people, all names are usually given in the bibliography. In the footnote, only the name of the first author is given followed by "et al."
  • For works with more than 10 authors, only the first 7 authors should be listed in the bibliography, followed by "et al."

Corporate Author

FORMAT

Corporation Name.Title of BookPlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

American Medical Association. Essential Guide to Asthma. New York: Pocket Books, 1998.

FOOTNOTE FORM

4. American Medical Association, Essential Guide to Asthma (New York: Pocket Books, 1998), 78.

MORE DETAILS

In a publication issued by corporation, organization, or association, the corporation is listed as the author (even if it is also given as the publisher).

No Author

FORMAT

Title of Book. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

American Heritage Dictionary for Learners of English. Boston: Houghton, 2002.

FOOTNOTE FORM

5. American Heritage Dictionary for Learners of English (Boston: Houghton, 2002), 10. 

Editor as Author

FORMAT

Editor's LastName, FirstName and/or Initial., ed. Title of Book: Subtitle of BookPlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Hughes, Kenneth J., ed. Contemporary Manitoba Writers: New Critical Studies. Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1990.

FOOTNOTE FORM

6. Kenneth J. Hughes, ed., Contemporary Manitoba Writers: New Critical Studies (Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1990), 48.

 

MORE DETAILS

  • In Chicago style notes, the abbreviation for editor is "ed." and the abbreviation for editors is "eds.
  • Abreviations for editor(s) are not used in bibliographical entries. Instead, the words "editor" or "editors" are spelled out in full.
  • When citing works with multiple editors, use the same formatting convention as you would for books with multiple authors.

Translated Book

FORMAT

Author's LastName, FirstName. Title of Book. Translated by Translator's FirstName LastName. PlacePublishedPublisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Fuentes, Norberto. Autobiography of Fidel Castro. Translated by Anna Kushner. New York: W.W. Norton, 2010.

FOOTNOTE FORM

7. Norberto Fuentes, Autobiography of Fidel Castro, trans. Anna Kushner (New York: W.W. Norton, 2010), 58.


FORMAT

Translator's LastName, FirstName, trans. Title of BookPlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

George, Andrew, trans. The Epic of Gilgamesh: The Babylonian Epic Poem and Other Texts in Akkadian and Sumerian. London: Penguin Classics, 1999.

FOOTNOTE FORM

4. Andrew George, trans., The Epic of Gilgamesh: The Babylonian Epic Poem and Other Texts in Akkadian and Sumerian, (London: Penguin Classics, 1999), 42.

MORE DETAILS

Sometimes translated works will have no attributable authors. In those cases treat the translator as you would the author of a book and add "trans." to indicate the translator's role. 

Chapter or Other Part of a Book

FORMAT

ChapterAuthor's LastName, FirstName. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by FirstEditor's FirstName LastName and SecondEditor's FirstName LastName, xx-xx. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Crozier, Lorna. “What Stays in the Family.” In Dropped Threads: What We Aren’t Told, edited by Carol Shields and Marjorie Anderson, 11-18. Toronto: Vintage Canada, 2001.

FOOTNOTE FORM

8. Lorna Crozier, “What Stays in the Family,” in Dropped Threads: What We Aren’t Told, ed. Carol Shields and Marjorie Anderson (Toronto: Vintage Canada, 2001), 16.

Introduction, Preface, or Afterword in a Book

FORMAT

IntroAuthor's LastName, FirstName and Second IntroAuthor's FirstName LastName. Introduction to Title of Book, xx - xx. Edited by Editor's FirstName LastName. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year. 

EXAMPLE

Deerchild, Eden, and Delba Duckworth. Introduction to Democracy in Canadaxvii–xxxvi. Edited by Jordan Maracle. Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press, 2018.

FOOTNOTE FORM

8. Eden Deerchild and Delba Duckworth, introduction to Democracy in Canada, ed. Jordan Maracle (Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press, 2018), xvi. 

MORE DETAILS

If the preface, introduction, or afterword is written by someone other than the editor (or author) of the book, provide the author of the preface, introduction, or afterword in addition to the title and author(s)/editor(s) of the book. In the bibliography, also include the page range for the preface, introduction, or afterword.

Edition other than Original

FORMAT

FirstAuthor's LastNameFirstName and/or Initial., and SecondAuthor's FirstName LastNameTitle of Book: Subtitle of Book. Edition number. PlacePublished: Publisher, Year.

EXAMPLE

Harper-Dorton, Karen V., and Martin Herbert, Working with Children, Adolescents, and Their Families. 3rd ed. Chicago: Lyceum Books, 2002.

FOOTNOTE FORM

2. Karen V. Harper-Dorton and Martin Herbert, Working with Children, Adolescents, and Their Families, 3rd ed. (Chicago: Lyceum Books, 2002), 43.

MORE DETAILS

When citing a book from an edition other than the original, you may describe the edition:

  • by number (e.g., 2nd ed., 3rd ed., 16th ed.)
  • or by name (e.g., "rev. ed." for revised edition).

Self-published Books

FORMAT

Author's LastNameFirstName and/or InitialTitle of Book. Self-published, Self-publisherName, Year.

EXAMPLE

Biberger, Angie. Plants and Poetry of Deep Cove. Self-published, CreateSpace, 2018.

FOOTNOTE FORM

7. Angie Biberger, Plants and Poetry of Deep Cove, (self-pub., CreateSpace, 2018), 27.