Skip to main content

Copyright guide for Camosun College: Licensed Resources

What are Licensed Resources?

Camosun College Library, individually and through consortia, signs licensing agreements with vendors and publishers for access to electronic resources such as databases and ejournals.

Each resource has its own licensing agreement. Generally speaking, all electronic resource licenses do not allow:

  • systematic downloading, for example entire volumes or issues of journals or entire books
  • use of robots, crawlers or similar software applications to capture data
  • resale or commercial use

Some licenses permit use in course packs and/or the creation of persistent links for insertion into an online course website such as D2L. Some licenses do NOT (for example, Harvard Business Review). 

The terms of any license take precedence over the Fair Dealing Policy. If you are unsure of the terms of use for an item contact the Library.

    Creating a Citations Page?

    Download the following documents for your coursepack:

    Remember to provide a full citation on the excerpt, article etc.(e.g. copyrighted, public domain, creative commons).

    Produce the list in your preferred citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago etc).

     

    Acknowledgement

    Thank you to Leanna Jantzi from Okanagan College who created the original content of this guide.

    Online Database Permissions

    1. Course Packs - Any work included in a course pack must carry a full and correct citation and the Copyright statement attached to it by the provider.  Visit the library's citation guide for assistance.

    2. Persistent Links - If you want to share an article, ebook, or chapter with other Camosun users, persistent URLs make it simple for the receiver to get to the document.  A persistent url or link is the web address of the document you want to share. You can copy and paste them into an email or a webpage.

    The information in this table is quite brief, if you need more detailed information, please contact the library.

    Database Use in Coursepacks Persistent Links
    Academic Search Complete no

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

    Access Science no

    no

    ACLS Humanities E-books no

    On any page of the book, at the very bottom, labelled “Permanent url for this title”. To ensure it works off campus insert the prefix:

    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

    Alt Health Watch no

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

     

    Applied Science Index yes (a single article from an issue of a journal) In the full record, labelled “Persistent URL”.
    ARTstor no

    Choose the Article Information link in the citation and find the “Stable URL”.  To ensure it works off campus insert the prefix:

    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

    Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport yes

    In the Full text version (not PDF), after the References, the end of the “Source Citation” gives the link. To ensure it works off campus insert the prefix:

    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

    Biological and Agricultural Index yes (a single article from an issue of a journal) In the full record, labelled “Persistent URL”.
    Biomedical Reference Collection no In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.
    BC Stats Secure no

    no

     

    Business Source Complete no

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

     

    Canadian Reference Center no

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

     

    Canadian Newsstand no

    In the full record, labelled “Document URL”.

     

    CBCA (incl. Business and Reference) no

    In the full record, labelled “Document URL”.

    CINAHL yes (a single article from an issue of a journal)

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

    Consumer Health Complete no

    In the full record, labelled “Persistent link to this record”.

    Criminology - from Sage yes (a single article from an issue of a journal)

    Choose “View Record”, copy the “DOI ”. Add it to this url:

    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url= http://www.csa.com/htbin/getfulltext.cgi?username=camos&access=camos99&db=sagecrim-set-c&mode=pdf&doi=


    Make sure there are no line breaks in the finished link.

    EBMR: Evidence Based Medicine yes

    In Full Text, choose Email Jumpstart link. The body of the email will contain the link that article.  To ensure it works off campus insert the prefix:

    https://libsecure.camosun.bc.ca:2443/login?url=

    ERIC no

    In the full record

     

    FAQs

    1. Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in D2L?

    Some Library licenses permit uploading of licensed online content to D2L. More commonly, licenses permit you to create and post in D2L "persistent links" to individual articles from licensed online resources. Rather than assume that the license for a particular resource permits this use check with the Library.

     

    2. Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    No. Generally speaking, all licensed resources are for the exclusive use of Camosun College.

     

    3. Can I include an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in a course pack?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the use of content in coursepacks. Check with the library.

     

    4. Can I handout print copies of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the use of content as class handouts. Check with the library.

     

    5. What is a persistent link?

    A persistent link provides permanent access to a specific article within a a subscription database or electronic journal (provided that the person clicking on the link is an authenticated user). Persistent links are also called permanent links or stable links.

     

    6. Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal in D2L?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the creation and posting of persistent links in D2L.

    If you are unsure of how to create persistent links to licensed content, please ask a Librarian.

     

    7. Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    No, unless the licensing agreement explicitly states that posting persistent links on a publicly accessible website is permitted.

     

    8. Can I post a published article that I have authored on either D2L on a publicly accessible website?

    Before posting or sharing any preprint or postprint version of your published article in any environment, you will have to check the agreement you signed with the publisher to ensure permitted uses.

     

    Return to the top