Skip to main content

CRIM: Criminal Justice: Find Articles

InterLibrary Loans (ILLs)

If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.

Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.

To place a request:

NOTEThere is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested

Access from home

The off campus login for library resources is the same as your Camosun domain account login (also used for D2L).

If you can't access e-books or article databases from home and you think this is a password problem, please go to https://password.camosun.ca to reset your password or contact the itsservicedesk@camosun.bc.ca if you are unable to reset your password.

When you are emailing about your account, please provide:

  • your student number
  • your full name
  • the service or resource you are trying to access
  • a description of the issue with resetting your password using the password reset site
  • put "Library Access" in your Subject Line

Sage Criminology Collection

Sage Publishing

Journals cover such subjects as

  • Corrections
  • Criminal Justice
  • Family and Domestic Violence
  • Forensic Psychology
  • Juvenile Delinquency
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Penology, and Policing

Browse list of journals in this collection‚Äč

 

Google Scholar

Single Search

 

Single Search: find articles, books, ebooks and more
Limit Your Results  

 

Camosun College Library Databases

Database Tips:

  • CBCA and Canadian Major Dailies are the best databases for Canadian content. The Times Colonist is full text in Canadian Major Dailies
  • Add “Canada” or “British Columbia” as a geographic search term when searching in Academic Search Complete or NCJRS
  • Remember to try synonyms, plurals, similar concepts, narrower or broader terms e.g. juvenile delinquency, youth crime, young offenders, gangs, etc.

The following are the best databases for researching Criminal Justice topics:

Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice

  • Peer reviewed
  • Coverage of the theoretical and scientific aspects of the study of crime and the practical problems of law enforcement, administration of justice and the treatment of offenders, particularly in the Canadian context
  • The CJCCJ emphasizes original scientific research 

Try adding one of the following keywords to your search terms

  • study              
  • empirical 
  • qualitative
  • results
  • methodology (or method)
  • quantitative
  • findings
  • participants

 

 

Or in the Abstract, look for the terms studyempirical study, or empirical analysis.

The term empirical may also appear in the title of the journal article. 

In the Subject field, you may also see Empirical Research listed. 

Tips for reading scholarly articles

Scholarly articles in the social sciences/sciences are written by academics and specialists in the field and include findings from primary/original research.  It is not recommended that you read a scholarly article from beginning to end, rather....
 

1. Read and consider the article title  

Will give you clues about the topic  

2. Scan the headings/sections of the article    

 

 3. Read the abstract

This is the summary of the article, usually dense with information.  

New articles may include keywords supplied by the author(s).  Scan these
keywords to:

  • give you additional information about the scope of the article
  • help you develop search terms for database searches

Ask yourself: is the article relevant for your research topic? 

 4. Read the first few paragraphs of the Discussion section

This section may also be called the Conclusion

  • will include a summary of the major findings from the study
  • will explain why findings are important to the field of study
  • will highlight limitations of the study and recommend possibilities for
    future research

Ask yourself: is the article still relevant for your research topic? 

 5.  Read the remaining sections of the article

Before you read a section, take the heading and convert into a question. 
This will set  the context for what you will learn in that section.  Seek out
the answer to this question as you read the section. 

Read the Introduction carefully - spend time here!  The Introduction will
provide background information about the topic and summarize previous
research in the area.  Make note of the hypothesis found in the Introduction
section.

Suggested order of reading: Introduction, Discussion, Results, then the
Methods section.

 6.  Re-read the abstract and Discussion section   

 

 7.  Examine the Works Cited/References   

Make note of other relevant studies on the topic and locate these publications through Library databases