Skip to main content

Camosun College Library Faculty Services: Instruction

Library instruction is foundational to academic success. 

How to book library instruction

Library instruction is available throughout the year. Available time slots fill up quickly, so be sure to request your session as early as possible. There are 2 ways to request a librarian-lead class:

Where the sessions happen?

At Lansdowne, classes are usually held in the Library Learning Lab LLC 136.

At Interurban, instructors must request computer lab space through Room Bookings (please allow yourself time for this process). Librarians are happy to provide guidance about which rooms work best for your class size and make-up.

Sessions should be scheduled at least 2 weeks in advance. 

INSTRUCT Information Literacy Modules (CREDO)

These self-paced information literacy modules include videos, tutorials and self-assessment quizzes on a variety of topics including research strategies, web evaluation and citation.

View one module at a time or take the whole course!

Information Literacy (CREDO) Research Guide

ELD and English classes

ELD 072 library sessions

For ELD 072 classes we recommend a 50 or 80 minute session, consisting of demonstration and hands-on activity. Typically, in an 80 minute session, students would complete a library worksheet, allowing them to practice using the library databases, and to start gathering research materials for their class assignment(s). Students in a 50 minute session can be given a handout or worksheet that provides direction for practice and identifying research materials.

ELD 072 Learning Outcomes
Upon completion of the lab session and worksheet, students will be able to:

Demonstrate foundation level information literacy skills for academic research and citation. 

  • Locate and use homepage of Camosun Library
  • Identify services of Camosun Library and role of librarians in supporting student research
  • Identify and use foundational information resources available through Camosun Library
    • Select appropriate search terms and combine them effectively
    • Describe methods of identifying synonyms / keywords
    • Identify elements of database record 
    • Identify relevant print and/or electronic sources of information for research purposes

ELD 092 library sessions

For ELD 092 classes we recommend a 50 or 80 minute session, consisting of demonstration and hands-on activity. Typically in an 80 minute session, students would complete a Library worksheet, allowing them to practice using the Library databases, and to start gathering research materials for their class assignment(s). Students in a 50 minute session can be given a handout or worksheet that provides direction for practice and identifying research materials.

ELD 092 Learning Outcomes
Upon completion of the lab session and worksheet, students will be able to:

Demonstrate practical information literacy skills for academic research and citation. 

  • Locate and use homepage of Camosun Library
  • Describe services of Camosun Library and role of librarians in supporting student research
  • Differentiate between library resources and free internet resources
  • Identify and use Camosun’s electronic research tools effectively and efficiently
    • Select appropriate search terms and combine them effectively
    • Describe methods of identifying synonyms / keywords
    • Identify elements of database record with emphasis on elements needed for citation
    • Identify relevant and reliable print and/or electronic sources of information for research purposes
  • Differentiate between newspaper, magazine and journal articles
  • Locate Camosun Library's MLA Citation Guide to check accuracy of database citations

ENGL 092 library sessions

For ENG 092 classes we recommend a 50 or 80 minute session, consisting of demonstration and hands-on activity. Typically in an 80 minute session, students would practice using the Library databases, and start gathering research materials for their class assignment(s). Students will be given a handout that provides direction for practice and identifying research materials.

ENGL 092 Learning Outcomes
Upon completion of the lab session and worksheet, students will be able to:

Demonstrate information literacy skills needed for college/university level research and citation. 

  • Locate and use homepage of Camosun Library
  • Describe services of Camosun Library and role of librarians in supporting student research
  • Differentiate between library resources and free internet resources
  • Identify and use Camosun’s electronic research tools effectively and efficiently
    • Select appropriate search terms and combine them effectively into a multi-concept search strategy
    • Identify elements of database record with emphasis on elements needed for citation
    • Identify and access relevant and reliable print and/or electronic sources of information
  • Differentiate between newspaper, magazine and journal articles to select appropriate research material
  • Describe scholarly, peer reviewed (academic) journals 
  • Locate Camosun Library's citation guides to check accuracy of database citations.

ENGL 151 library sessions

For ENG 151 classes we recommend a 50 or 80 minute session, consisting of demonstration and hands-on activity. Typically in an 80 minute session, students would practice using the library databases, and start gathering research materials for their class assignment(s). Students in a 50 minute session can be given a handout that provides direction for practice and identifying research materials.

ENGL 151 Learning Outcomes
Upon completion of the lab session and worksheet, students will be able to:

Demonstrate information literacy skills needed for college/university level research and citation. 

  • Locate and use homepage of Camosun Library
  • Describe services of Camosun Library and role of librarians in supporting student research
  • Differentiate between library resources and free internet resources
  • Identify and use Camosun’s electronic research tools effectively and efficiently
    • Select appropriate search terms and combine them effectively into a multi-concept search strategy
    • Identify elements of catalog / database record with emphasis on elements needed for citation
    • Identify and access relevant and reliable print and/or electronic sources of information
  • Differentiate between newspaper, magazine and journal articles to select appropriate research material
  • Describe scholarly, peer reviewed (academic) journals 
  • Locate and use Camosun Library's citation guides to construct an accurate formatted citation for a retrieved article  
Loading ...

Tips for successful instructional sessions

Timing

  • start a conversation with your librarian about a library instruction session as soon as possible. Provide a minimum of 2 weeks advance notice for your request – the sooner the better. Advance notice is necessary to ensure the availability of librarians, customization of session content, and access to computer labs.
  • please keep in mind, library research sessions are most effective when students have already been introduced to their assignments (usually 2 to 3 weeks before the assignment is due).
  • remind your students about the upcoming session, including location and time.

Provide your librarian with the following information:

  • course information and number of students in your class.
  • if any of your students have documented accessibility issues (e.g., mobility, visual impairment).
  • a copy of the research assignment your students will be working on.
  • a copy of your course syllabus (if possible).

The day of

Instructors are requested to be present for library sessions. Student questions often arise about the research topic or guidelines assigned. These questions are best answered by the instructor. Through their presence, instructors can also provide librarians with valuable insight about their class and its specific needs – this is information unavailable to librarians from any other source.


Following up

Was the session beneficial to your students? Please feel free to provide feedback.

“Information Literacy empowers people in all walks of life to seek, evaluate, use and create information effectively to achieve their personal, social, occupational and educational goals. It is a basic human right in a digital world and promotes social inclusion in all nations.” UNESCO (2005) Alexandria Proclamation. 

Camosun librarians base their instruction on the American Library Association's (ALA) and the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Information Literacy Framework.