Article databases by title
- Academic Search CompleteAll topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
- ACM Digital LibraryCovers computer science; academic focus.
- Alt Healthwatch (EBSCO)Useful for alternative and complementary therapies. Includes journals and magazines.
- Applied Science & Technology FulltextArticles with an applied focus on technology, engineering and science.
- Art IndexIndexes almost 400 international art publications
- Bibliography of Native North AmericansCovers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains citations and some full text for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of Canada and the United States.
- Biological & Agricultural Index PlusCovers biology, environment & biochemistry.
- BioMed CentralAcademic, scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: ComprehensiveBiomedicine, health sciences, health care and pre-clinical sciences. Limiting to fulltext in Medline(EBSCO) will also locate these journal articles.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness, economics, some Canadian content. Journals, magazines, some online books, company profiles, and market, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete - enhanced business search
- Canadian NewsstandAll topics; covers major daily Canadian newspapers including the Times-Colonist.
- Canadian Reference CentreCanadian magazines and reference books.
- CBCA - Business & ReferenceCanadian magazines and journals.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)The most important database for nursing journals and magazines.
- ELN MediaSelect ELN Media Cat from either the "BC Libraries" or the "BC Union Databases" list.
- EMBR: Evidence Based Medicine ReviewsDefinitive resource in evidence based medicine. Most are reviews not journal articles.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)The largest education journal and curriculum database.
- First Nations Periodical IndexJournals of mainly Canadian Native content.
- General Science AbstractsGeneral science topics, academic journals and popular science magazines.
- Going GlobalGlobal job search database available to current Camosun students and staff. Includes country career guides, city guides, employer directory, etc. Check the Student Employment site for additional information.
- Google ScholarSearch scholarly literature as a Camosun user. Use the "Where can I get this?" link to access licensed fulltext.
- GreenFILECovers environmental issues: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionCovers many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health; meant for the general public.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionScholarly journals in nursing & allied health.
- Historical abstracts with full textCovers the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- Hoover's Company RecordsProvides profiles, histories, financials, and rankings for more than 40,000 companies.
- Humanities AbstractsHistory, literature, philosophy articles.
- Institute of PhysicsOpen access to over 60 physics journals available online.
- iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal research toolThe "vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies". The focus is on electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.
- JSTORAn archive of over 200 academic journals in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Good for historical research.
- Lexi-PALS Drug GuidePatient Advisory Leaflets providing education on medication for patients.
- LISTALibrary & information science resources - abstracts only.
- MAS UltraPopular and general interest magazine articles.
- Medline via EbscoComprehensive medical index. Finds different fulltext than Medline via OVID.
- Medline via OVIDComprehensive medical index. Finds different fulltext than Medline via Ebsco
- Medline via OVID 1950-1965This is ONLY citations from 1950-1965 which are not included in the version of Medline via OVID above.
- Military and Government CollectionAcademic and professional magazine articles about the U.S. government and military.
- Native Health DatabaseFirst Nations health articles, reports & surveys from the University of New Mexico. Has indexed Canadian content.
- Natural StandardAn international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). Information is ... evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.
- NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceContains article summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
- Outlook OnlineA catalogue of the holdings of British Columbia's public, college, and university libraries.
- PLoS OneOpen access reports of peer-reviewed scientific and medical research.
- Professional Development CollectionEducation journals. Many fulltext articles.
- PsycARTICLES52 APA journals - fulltext. Normally accessed from PsycINFO.
- PsycINFOThe major psychology journal database.
- QP LegalEzeProvides current British Columbia legislation from official sources. This includes Statutes, Regulations and related information such as Third Reading Bills, Gazette Part II and Hansard.
- Readers' Guide AbstractsAll topics, popular focus, some Canadian articles.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical LiteratureIndexing for over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983. Some fulltext available.
- RefWorksRefWorks is a web-based bibliographic citation manager that allows you to collect, save and organize bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, websites and other sources that you have found during your research.
- Research Starters - BusinessSummary articles from Business Source Complete - a good place to start your research.
- Sage Criminology Journals OnlineOver 20 criminology titles. Subscription cancelled; access to fulltext only available up to 2009.
- Science DirectOur subscription only provides access to part of the database, In the Source box, change “All journals” to “Subscribed journals” and then do your search.
- Scirus - for scientific informationSearch scholarly literature as a Camosun user. Use the "Where can I get this?" link to access licensed fulltext. Select the Preferences tab, then under Library Partner Links, select Enable and then choose Camosun from the drop down menu.
- SearchMedicaAn open web search that gives a wide range of professional materials and allows you to narrow your search by Category, such as Evidence Based, Practice Guidelines, Clinical Trial. No "Where Can I Get This".
- Short Stories for StudentsA single search for a 33 volume set. "Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance."
- Social Sciences Full TextAll social science topics (anthropology, sociology, political science, psychology , criminology articles); mainly journals, some magazines.
- SPORTDiscusSport, sport business, physiology, and training articles; academic focus.
- Your Journals @OVIDThese journal articles can also be found by searching fulltext in Medline (OVID).
Comments (0)
InterLibrary Loans (ILLs)
You can order any articles that are not available online through the library's free interlibrary loan service.
Journal articles usually arrive in 3-7 days. Visit our Borrowing from Other Libraries page for more information.
Cite this
Referencing (also called citing, documenting or quoting) your sources correctly just got easier.
Collect, save and organize bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, web sites and other sources that you have found during your research with RefWorks.

For general help with RefWorks
Many citation styles are supported by RefWorks but these specific style guides will help you confirm details:

Loading...
